Fitness: My road so far

I haven’t actually blogged about my fitness attempts before, so I thought I’d start with some background on what I’ve done so far, and where I’m going.

Back in March, Denis Gobo posted a link to a blog post on nerdfitness.com on the tech forum lessthandot.com. I ended up following it because I didn’t have a clue what Crossfit was. After reading through that article, I went through a lot of the blogs Steve Kamp had up at the time. I became inspired by what I saw on Nerd Fitness. The community was awesome, and the ideals were perfect. I started off trying the Angry Birds workout. I didn’t do too well with it. I then joined the next 6 week challenge. Oh, and around this time I ended up turning Allan onto the paleo diet, and he’s knocked his weight down considerably.

Well, I did ok for the first challenge. I had a few hits and misses with my goals. I did the next 6 week challenge… and I did worse. I signed up for the next… and pretty well didn’t do it at all.

At this point I had regressed back to where I was in February. At one point I stumbled across Strong Lifts 5×5, and decided that I wanted to join a gym and try it. At the time I really didn’t’ have the money to do this. Well, August finally came around and Clare, my ex girlfriend and good friend, ended up pushing me into joining the YMCA. I decided that my workout schedule would be Saturday, Monday, and Wednesday, the best days for me.

I did the first two sessions of the workout, and then Jessie’s wedding stuff happened and I ended up missing the next two sessions. Previous to this I had somewhat agitated a muscle in my upper back, but it wasn’t a big deal at the time. The Monday after Jessie’s wedding, when I was going to jump back into the gym, I end up agitating the muscle again and was in a pretty decent amount of pain. I ended up skipping working out that week to give my back some time to heal.

Saturday I finally hopped back into the gym. I’m excited to get back to it, and I’m determined to not let life get in the way of what I want to achieve (being super strong, and not so chubby). Through everything I’ve learned that, if I don’t keep myself disciplined, then I won’t ever make any progress in what I want to achieve.

Tonight I’m going to the gym to get my work in, and I’m also going to help my friend Tim figure out what’s causing his back to hurt during his squats. At the very least I’m going to take some video of him squatting. Here’s to hoping we get everything figured out.

This entry was posted in Weight Lifting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

