Vacation

This blog post is a writing exercise from writers.stackexchange.com. Visit the Writers chat room every Tuesday for new writing exercises. This week’s exercise: ten minutes to write about the topic “vacation”.

My god, is it nice to finally get away from everything, no longer having to deal with Susie and her hacking cough, or June with her annoying voice that never seems to go away. Instead, I get to relax in the hot tub and just let the day go past me, like a stone sitting in a deep secluded forest with no one around for miles.

But, wouldn’t you know it, no sooner than I finally get that tough knot out of the middle of my back my phone ring. Why the hell did I bring it with me? I should have just pitched it in the ocean as soon as I got here and told everyone that it got lost. But, the obsessive compulsive and nosey parts of me couldn’t resist. I dried off my hands and picked up the phone, and trying to sound agitated said “Yes?”

“Hey, um, Mike. How’s the uh, you know, vacation going?”

“It’d be better if it wasn’t being interrupted, Dan. What’s going on?”

“Oh, hey man, I’m sorry. You know I wouldn’t call ya if it wasn’t important.”

“Yeah, I know. So what’s the deal? Did something catch fire?”

“Um, well, no. Not in a literal sense I guess. Do you remember those reports you filed before you left? You know, THOSE reports?”

“Yeah, what about them?”

“Well, apparently management’s been running over the number, and, uh, they’re not too happy.”

“What do you mean?”

“Well, uh, apparently there are discrepancies.”

“What do you mean discrepancies? Everything was just fine when I handed them in!”

“Wait, uh, huh? So, there wasn’t a million bucks missing out of the Vanhoon account when you turned in your report?”

“What?! No, of course not! If an account was a million dollars shy do you think I would have gone on vacation?”

“Well, uh, you see, that’s the problem. The big guys, um, hey I’m not saying you did it, but um, they think that you took the money and, uh, you know, used it on your vacation.”

“Wait, wait wait! They think I took the money? Of course they do! Well, fuck them I didn’t take the money!”

“Well, um, at this moment everything kind of points to you man, I don’t know, uh, I don’t know what to tell ya.”

This entry was posted in Writings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

