There are no failures, only learning pains

A few months back, I attempted a challenge on Nerd Fitness. I was using it to push my boundaries. As part of the challenge I was using Tim Ferris’ book The 4 Hour Chef to teach myself how to cook. My goals were rather aggressive: finish the basic recipes by the end of the 6 week challenge. I even made an accountabilibuddies group focused on food for the challenge.

About after the third or fourth week I feel off the wagon. I don’t recollect what happen, but I pretty well ended my participation in the challenge. I think I just put too much pressure on myself to finish the recipes and I sorta cracked under the pressure. It isn’t the first time that’s happened during these challenges, probably won’t be the last.

At one point I started watching health documentaries on Netflix. I watched Hungry for Change, Fat Sick and Nearly Dead, and a whole slew of TED Talks. I ended up buying a juicer and trying to add it into my diet, replacing a meal here or there with juice. It didn’t really work out, but I’m ok with that.

One night I was at a friend’s place, and a friend joined us later on that even. She told us about a weight loss competition at work and how much she lost and she won the competition. At that point I decided that it was time to stop collecting underpants and finally do something. I decided that it was time to stop eating bread and most things containing white flour.

I started my baseline, and gradually started changing my diet. I think the major catalyst was the night that I made scrambled eggs, and on a whim added spinach to it. That spinach was in the fridge from the failure of an attempt to make juice. I then started adding other vegetables to other meals that I’d make, like my chili.

So you see, the juicer may not have worked out as planned (did I even have a plan?), but it created a stepping stone for me in my path. There are no failures, only learning pains.

Now, going without eating bread or floury substances has become pretty easy, since I’m preparing most of my food at home. Well see in the next while how big an affect this has on me.

This entry was posted in Weight Loss. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

