Work challenge wrap up, next challenge goals

Work challenge wrap up

At work we had a “Survival of the fittest” competition that ran from February 11th to April 8th. The goal was to lose the most weight, comparing weight lost by percent body weight lost. I started the competition at 421.4 pounds, and ended at 406.4 pounds. That’s a 15 pound loss (3.6%). I am super happy with that number, and it should keep going down for a while with the changes that I’ve made with my diet. I plan on keeping track of it like I have, once a week.

(photo section if there’s noticeable enough difference)

Next challenge goals

I will be returning to the Nerd Fitness challenges… again. This challenge runs from April 15th to May 27th. This challenge, I’m focusing on something that has affected me for a while: my sleep schedule. I have problems getting myself to go to bed on time. It’s not a matter of being tired, it’s more about discipline and telling myself it’s time to go to sleep. With that, I want to start working out in the mornings before work. I want to complete level 1 of the Nerd Fitness workout by the end of the challenge. Also, I will be continuing my no bread/sweets habit that I’ve already developed. Here’s the build out of the goals:

Title: Thirster Cuts to black

I’m a bit of a movie nerd. I am a moderator on movies.stackexchange.com. If you don’t understand the title, in movies when the screen blacks out, usually at the end of a movie, it’s called a “fade to black.” I’m working on both getting more sleep, and cutting my body fat percentage, hence “Cut to black”.

I’m decently strong. Not CoreyD or BigM strong, but decent. I’d like to be on their level in the Big 3, but I need to get my general fitness into shape first before I really go after those goals.

Fitness: NF Level 1 Workout

The Nerd Fitness Rebel Fitness Guide has several levels of workouts. While I feel that at my core I am a warrior, I think that I should stick with these for a while to help get in better overall shape (weight wise and endurance wise). I also want to do these in the morning so they don’t interfere with my screwed up schedule and my screwed up schedule doesn’t interfere with them. That means sleeping when I need to. Here’s the build out:

Week 1: free pass
Week 2: 1 workout
Week 3: 2 workouts
Week 4: 3 workouts
Week 5: 3 workouts
Week 6: 3 workouts, end of Lvl 1 workout

Diet: Continue no bread/sweets

Just maintaining my goals from last challenge.

Life: Sleep

My sleep schedule has been wonky here lately, I need to fix that. So, here we go. This will be a tough one for sure.

Week 1:
• Baseline for when I go to sleep and wake up, alarms set for 5:30 am and 10 pm.
Week 2:
• Sunday: bed at 11, wake at 5:30 am Monday
Week 3:
• Sunday: bed at 10, wake at 5:30 am Monday
• Tuesday: bed at 10, wake at 5:30 am Wednesday
Week 4:
• Sunday: bed at 10, wake at 5:30 am Monday
• Tuesday: bed at 10, wake at 5:30 am Wednesday
• Thursday: bed at 10, wake at 5:30 am Wednesday
• Bed at 11 rest of week
Week 5:
• Sunday: bed at 10, wake at 5:30 am Monday
• Tuesday: bed at 10, wake at 5:30 am Wednesday
• Thursday: bed at 10, wake at 5:30 am Wednesday
• Bed at 11 rest of week
Week 6:
• Sunday: bed at 10, wake at 5:30 am Monday
• Tuesday: bed at 10, wake at 5:30 am Wednesday
• Thursday: bed at 10, wake at 5:30 am Wednesday
• Bed at 11 rest of week

This entry was posted in Weight Loss. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

