Intermittant fasting with Bulletproof coffee

I started drinking Bulletproof coffee (coffee with saltless butter and coconut oil or MCT oil, http://www.bulletproofexec.com/category/coffee-2/) out of curiosity. After reading this article (http://www.bulletproofexec.com/bulletproof-fasting/) it turns out that I’ve been unintentionally doing intermittent fasting. Intermittent Fasting (IF) is where you have a specified window to eat food, and then go the rest of the day without eating.

See, when I started drinking BP coffee I essentially replaced my breakfast smoothie with it. I then don’t actually eat anything until lunch time, and I also eat dinner. If I were to do it the recommended way, I’d wait until 2 pm to eat, and would be done eating by 8 pm. I might try pushing my lunch to 2 pm, but there’s just no way I could consistently be done eating by 8 pm, my schedule is just too hectic.

Now, I know what some of you are thinking. “Butter? In coffee?” It’s actually pretty good. And consider this, you put creamer in your coffee, butter is just churned cream.

Now, others might say “but all that fat will make you fat!” Not so fast, did you know that the body is actually designed to burn fat as its primary energy source? In fact, the carbs and sugar that you eat HAVE to be converted into fat and stored before the body can burn it for fuel. Whereas any fat you digest is readily available energy.

Also, the idea of what this does is it gets your body into fat-burning mode instead of relying on carbs and sugar, etc. The intended effect is that your body will start pulling fat from your body to burn, rather than storing fat.

I did this for two straight weeks for breakfast, but now that I am going to the gym in the mornings I’m going to alternate coffee and breakfast smoothie, mainly because the smoothie has way more protein in it to help rebuild muscle than the coffee does. So I’m having a smoothie on gym days and coffee the other days.

If you decide to try it, let me know what you think.

This entry was posted in Coffee, Weight Loss. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

